Archinect
anchor

Essay on japanese metabolism

martyschroder

Hi,

I'm a second year architecture student and I'm looking to write an essay on Japanese metabolism, I find it a lot easier to write comparison essays. So, I'd appreciate any suggestions of modern architecture in the form of urban planning or buildings that relates to the ideas of impermenance and change around a framework. At the moment all I can think of is the Lloys building in London which at least had intentions of those ideals. However I would like to look at a bigger scheme (preferably urban planning) which I could then link to the ideals of metabolism and suggest this as a possibly way of future planning.

Thanks!

Marty.

Apr 10, 17 10:54 am
sidewinder

I'd look at the Pompidou Center or Cedric Prince's speculative work as well. 

Apr 10, 17 11:00 am  · 
 · 
l3wis

moshe safdie's habitat concepts are architecturally similar but perhaps not conceptually on the same page as metabolism

fumihko maki's Group Form theory is related to metabolism and developed in that same time period.

one recent thing that is close to metabolism in concept is Elemental's housing concepts that build out shells and allow inhabitants to fill in their houses as needed over time

Apr 10, 17 1:56 pm  · 
 · 
Non Sequitur

Safdie's habitat pre-dates the japanese metabolist. Maki's vertical village ideas is closest.

Apr 10, 17 2:20 pm  · 
 · 
shakingitout

Are you sure? Metabolism began forming as an idea almost right after the war. GK had already designed and built the first "capsule," a telephone booth, in 1953. Safdie's thesis, on which Habitat was based, wasn't complete until 1961, after the 1960 Tokyo World Design Conference, which was when the first (and only) Metabolist "manifesto" debuted.

Apr 10, 17 9:32 pm  · 
 · 
martyschroder

Yes from what I've read, it was partially inspired by the need to rebuild after the vast destruction of the war, and also Maki was one of the original formers of the metabolisits