Archinect
anchor

HELP - UIUC vs UWashington vs USC | M.Arch 2

Geek

Hello

I graduated last year from India with a B.Arch degree. My interest lies in sustainable design but I also want to choose a city where there are plenty of job opportunities. I am considering University of Illinois Urbana Champaign, University of Washington Seattle and University of Southern California for M.Arch 2. Listed below is the information I have so far gained about the two programs. 

1- University of Washington, Seattle

• Specialization - Sustainable Systems and Design - will be mentioned in the transcript.
  • Certificates - Design Computing, Lighting Design
  • Internship program
  • Specialized Studios
  • Located in Seattle - good location

Cons - It is 7 semesters long. My undergrad was of 5 years 10 semesters long, I am not very inclined to study 7 more semesters.

2- University of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign

• Located near Chicago
  • 2 year 4 semester course
  • they hold annual career fair
  • the course might become STEM - finding job as an international student would be easier
  • They have LEED course as elective

Cons - Have a high performance building concentration but its not formal - wont be mentioned in the transcript

3- University of Southern California , LA

• Certifications in sustainable design and sustainable policy and planning

Cons-  extremely expensive

I'm looking for information from recent graduates or current students from either of these three universities on the design studios, real-life project exposure during the program, internship opportunities and job prospects after graduation. Any information regarding this will be very useful to help me make an informed decision. 

Thanks!

Apr 4, 17 2:09 am
TED

UIC-UC is not near Chicago - (about 2.5 hour drive) - California has the most job options - have a look at Archinect job boards to get a sense of opportunities that match your interest.

Apr 4, 17 3:43 am  · 
 · 
Geek