Archinect
anchor

Any shot at grad school?/What to tell admissions about low GPA

cxhy0

Just wanted some insight about grad school and my current situation.

I graduated ugrad with a BS (4+2 path) in 2015 and have been feeling some pressure to go back to grad school. 

My first two years of college were really bad... (was depressed, got help, you get the story) and so my cumulative GPA is 2.87. I tried my best to raise it my last two years but couldn't get it to 3.0 before graduation. My GPA my last 4 semesters have been between 3.2 and 3.5 though. How much would I need to explain my low GPA? Unsure how much to delve or if it's appropriate to tell admissions I was depressed, got help, the whole shebang.

I know I'd need a super stellar portfolio with great GRE scores/recs/etc if I were to apply. 
Grad school has always been a goal but I've been so discouraged with my low GPA and so I was wondering if I even stand a shot. 
Already got my backup plan in the works- currently working in NYC to get licensed in 4 years without a MArch. 

If anyone's got any advice or insight, its much appreciated. 

Mar 31, 17 12:50 am
accesskb

Some schools don't count the first year or two and would take the average of your final 3 years or so.  Some may even accept you if you slightly below their requirements but if they see you've worked hard and made improvements in the final few semesters.  They might accept you or even give you a conditional offer like maintain a certain grade or else you'll be asked to withdraw.  Best is to go visit the school and meet with the directors or call them up and explain your situation.  You'd be surprised how accommodating and flexible many can be.

Mar 31, 17 1:52 am  · 
 · 
TED