Archinect
anchor

Athabasca University - Bachelor of Architectural Science (Canada)

zeushimself

I am a graduate of an advanced diploma program in Architectural Technology and have been looking into ways to eventually receive professional accreditation in Canada. I came across this new program but didn't think much of it, does anybody have any experience with this program transferring as a college graduate?

Mar 28, 17 10:19 am
Non Sequitur

You need an accredited Master in Architecture in order to qualify for intern status and start collecting experience hours.  The only alternative route is via the RAIC syllabus and the degree with Athabasca is geared towards those unable/unwilling to do the traditional (and superior) 4y Bachelor + 2y Master route.

Please note that you can already enter the RAIC syllabus program with your existing technologist diploma. Look for your local chapter and save yourself 6 years of schooling. In my experience, online and distance education modules for architecture do not produce high quality student work.

Mar 28, 17 10:29 am  · 
 · 
zeushimself

I agree that distance education would not allow me to produce quality work but I'm really just trying to find out more information on all of my options so I don't waste any time. I have heard that the RAIC syallbus is kind of meh so I was looking to obtain a bachelor's so I can apply to an MArch program elsewhere. Would Athabasca give me this option or is it only geared towards the RAIC syllabus? I would have no problem doing a bachelor's in Canada but barely any credits are given for my past education and I'm not looking to sit in on an introductory architecture class.

I would seriously consider the RAIC syllabus right now but what if I get half way through and it doesn't work out? Then I'm back at square one. These are my options:

1) Start bachelor from year 1 to eventually the 4 year + 2 year

2) Get 1 year of university experience to apply to 3rd year entry programs at UBC, Dal, etc.