Archinect
anchor

Manitoba vs Carelton or Ryerson for M.arch program

smileandshine

Got acceptance from U of M for graduate Program M.arch waiting for other two

Anyone with any experience or insight on either or both?

I am an international student and i have family in Toronto. Really scared and confused about Manitoba because of weather. I am interested in getting quality education and working for few years but then eventually move back to India.

Is manitoba far better than ryerson or carelton ?

Among Ryerson and carelton which is better ?

Is winter really that brutal in Manitoba ?

How will you rank U of M in terms of Architectural education and TA/RA?

How are Job opportunities in Manitoba?

Any suggestion and advise would be highly appreciated

Mar 27, 17 1:29 am
bowling_ball

I can help with the Manitoba thing, as I did my Masters there not too long ago. Right now the faculty is in transition and it would not be my first choice. The education is good but the faculty will likely be joining the faculty of engineering over the next few years, which in my opinion, would be terrible for staff and students.

The weather shouldn't scare you off. Winters are long and cold, but summers are hot and dry and it's sunny all year long. There's lots to do.

For employment, this is where Manitoba has the real advantage. It's the only architecture school for several thousand kilometres. There are always job openings. The cost of housing is very inexpensive compared to Toronto or Ottawa. And because of the relative lack of competition, you will be better paid (again, relatively speaking). On the other hand, the quality and construction budgets we have to work with are nowhere near those of the other cities, with very few exceptions).

Mar 27, 17 1:55 am  · 
 · 
smileandshine

@bowling_ball Thanks a lot for you Input

I have already got rejection from Waterloo and Mcgill so i am not left with much choice.