Archinect
anchor

Columbia VS IAAC (Graduate Program)

zigmondi

I have been accepted to Columbia (M.S. ADVANCED ARCHITECTURAL DESIGN) and to IAAC (MASTERS OF ADVANCED ARCHITECTURE 2)

I am trying to way the pros and cons and any input would be greatly appreciated!

The Pros and Cons of each:

Columbia Pros:

• Ivy League (Great Reputation and great connections)

Columbia Cons:

• Expensive Tuition and everyday expenses (Rent..etc)

IAAC Pros:

• Great Facilities (3d printing, labs..etc)
  • Cheaper

IAAC Cons:

• Not accredited

Mar 23, 17 11:05 am
Philarct

I tended to lean more toward the cheaper schools for less debt after graduation, but do you plan on getting licensed as an architect in the US after school? If so I'd go for Columbia. I'm sure you can get a job with an un-accredited degree but I'd prefer to keep my options open with an accredited degree. I guess it depends on your end game. 

Mar 23, 17 11:24 am  · 
1  · 
zigmondi

I've been working for a few years with next to no expenses, so money is not an issue.

But I have cofounded a start up in Beirut, where I live. I am tempted by the whole "ivy league" thing, but I think IAAC is more practical and hands on.

I don't really have an end game, but I doubt I'll work in the US.

Mar 23, 17 11:58 am  · 
 · 
TED

Good reasoning - IAAC is great particularly for innovation and start up -Lad there (who is on Archinect) has a practice BAD which has done projects in Beruit if I recall. - he is brilliant

Mar 24, 17 4:54 am  · 
 · 
zigmondi

Thank you Ted for your reply!

Apr 6, 17 7:56 am  · 
 · 
thebatata

I've also been admitted to both these universities and would love to hear your thoughts.

Mar 25, 17 7:09 am  · 
 · 
zigmondi

It's decision day! Any more thoughts would be appreciated. :)

Apr 14, 17 2:15 pm  · 
 · 
Rgneee