Archinect
anchor

My feeling after I graduated from Japan.

Vendetta

I came to studied Master degree in Japan because I think there are a lot of interesting architecture here.

I hoped  I could learn process how to design a building that relates to human life and social more than design a beautiful building.
But no, when I and foreign students have projects with Japanese students, they start from form first without studying about circulation or area requirement.

I came to studied Master degree in Japan because I think there are a lot of interesting architecture here.

I hoped  I could learn process how to design a building that relates to human life and social more than design a beautiful building.
But no, when I and foreign students have projects with Japanese students, they start from form first without studying about circulation or area requirement.

Actually, they spent their time to design a beautiful thing without process, no question, no purpose. not research design. Adviser seldom comes to check student work.

When we do qualitative research, my adviser doesn't understand the meaning of theory, theoretical framework or conceptual framework. 
no need to ask other Japanese students, nobody understands it.
Our adviser only asks us to find an interesting thing in our thesis, not about process.

We feel they care only end product without process how we do it, how to gain knowledge after we graduate.
We feel its not different from Japanese architecture in nowadays that focus only weird form.

A lot of Japanese architects be famous because they try to design weird building + high technology from an engineer, just make some story after their building finish. Its different from architects who have critical thinking when design.

Here, For me, I dont know, if they dont know how to design like a research, focus only beautiful form, so what direction that they will give into their building?