Archinect
anchor

Is it me or is architecture in the UK really boring?

AKATO

Forgive me, I'm only a part 1 graduate but it's under my impression that London's architecture scene is lacking in imagination and variety.

Just looking at the kinds of practices out there, and comparing it to other places (US/Europe - although mainly US, I have to admit), I'm kind of struck by how much more... common-sense and down to Earth the UK architecture scene is currently. 

Especially the practices here. Even the younger up-and-coming practices have twitter descriptions that frequently harps on about 'clients', 'listen', 'collaborate', 'planning'. Where are the Bureau Spectaculars, the Space Caviars, the... I don't know, someone give me another name. I am getting the feeling that here the discourse on architecture has taken a heavy right hand turn for the contextual, socially responsible, and almost Christopher-Alexander levels of yawn.

For a city that is often on the edge of culture it seems like architecture is on a leash. Of course, to each their own but it's just not something that I'm interested in. Unfortunately in my foreseeable prospects I am stuck on this small island with the rest of these lunatics. Can someone prove me wrong? Am I just not looking in the right places? 

I'm really just sick of everyone harping on about their house extensions with an amazing glass skylight that miraculously got planning permissions.

Mar 17, 17 12:04 pm

1 Featured Comment

All 11 Comments

Bench

Holy fuck. That's about all I can say.

Mar 17, 17 12:27 pm  · 
 · 
archiwutm8

What are you looking for? The Gherkin is literally a giant phallus in the middle of London, its imaginative!

Mar 17, 17 1:15 pm  · 
 · 
AKATO

Been looking for that giant floating clitoris in the sky.

Mar 17, 17 1:41 pm  · 
 · 
accesskb