Archinect
anchor

Heading to Yale!

mm09

This goes out to all the Yale graduates... and the ones who will be attending this fall.

I am an international student, going for M.arch II to YSOA coming fall. The education system and the lifestyle in general is very different from my home country. I have a list of queries, any information you could provide would be highly appreciated. Mostly are related to money though!

1. Does every student get their own PC, in the studio?

2. Do they charge for all the workshop tools like laser cutting machines, printers separately   or is it included in the tuition fees?

3. I know we have one travel week per semester. Are these paid for or are we expected to pay for it?

4. I got a decent financial grant, but I would also like to work as a GA/TA. They haven’t mentioned about it in the offer letter. How do I apply for it? 

5. What are the software generally used in studio?

6. How safe is New Haven? I have read about security concerns. What are the areas that are safe and relatively close to the school of architecture? Need to find housing….stressing out here. :-/

Mar 10, 17 11:15 am

1 Featured Comment

All 17 Comments

chigurh

don't forget your smoking jacket!

Mar 10, 17 11:47 am  · 
 · 
mm09

Ha ha I wont! ;-)

Mar 10, 17 1:37 pm  · 
 · 
archiitex

I'm concerned about safety as well, could anyone who attends Yale currently comment on this?

Mar 10, 17 12:21 pm  · 
 · 
l3wis

1. yup you get your own in the studio

2. they charge you for cutting and printing. budget 1-2,000 a semester for supplies and printing/cutting.

3. travel weeks are paid for in your third year.

4. there will be opportunities to do that once you arrive. they wage you earn is very small FYI like something around 10-12 bucks an hour. unless you are financially stretched your time will be more valuable than that in my personal opinion. your first year is going to be insanely busy.

5. rhino mostly. - a few classes will use revit