Archinect
anchor

RECENT GSAPP Graduate - I WILL ANSWER ALL YOUR GSAPP QUESTIONS

batman

i graduated from a dual masters degree from GSAPP

Master of Architecture and Master of Science in Real Estate Development.

I make more money in the real estate field than all my architecture peers. how much more you ask? anywhere from $40k-$50k more. And I just graduated just a couple years back.

How? Well, because my real estate firm liked that I had an architecture background.

So for all the prospective students - I implore you to explore the idea of getting a dual degree OR..just going straight for the MS.RED program. New York is the capital of real estate and to get into this program is highly coveted AND the most sensible idea.

also don't give me that "you went to the dark side" shit. School is an investment. If you're going to DROP $120K in debt for your tuition, you BETTER HOPE THAT WHEN YOU COME OUT YOU'RE MAKING at least $70-$90k. Thanks to my salary, there is nothing "dark" about paying off my loans within a year! If you're rich daddy and mommy is paying for you tuition then ignore. 

This brings me to my other point - For those of who you got into the MS.AAD program...graduating from this program WILL NOT GUARANTEE YOU TO HAVE A BIGGER PAYCHECK. MOST LIKELY YOU WILL BE GUNNING FOR THE SAME POSITIONS AS YOUR M.ARCH PEERS (UNLESS YOU HAVE A CRAZY AMOUNT OF WORK EXPERIENCE but if you do, why are you even enrolling \ into a MS.AAD program?). I honestly don't know why people enroll in this program. It is obviously a ploy from the school to attract more business. Steer towards MS.RED instead.

Definitely having the Columbia name is great - most of my internships and job opportunities came from the Columbia network, but the MS.RED is a VERY VERY STRONG NETWORK. The M.arch is basically non-existent but they are trying to develop this. Archinect does a better job putting out jobs than the M.arch career office.