Archinect
anchor

Too late to change career? Or should I give architecture a chance?

Hello everyone.

I am 25years old and I recently graduated from a B.Arch program in spring, 2016. I am currently employed at an architecture firm in Boston and I am preparing for the ARE.

But ever since graduating I was having this weird phase where I don't know what I should do with my life. Although I love architecture and everything about it, I become disheartened and disenchanted whenever I talk to people who knows what architecture profession is. Whenever I told people i studied architecture they always have concerns whether I will actually get a job after applying or how little I am going to earn despite the effort. Even the architects are not really that encouraging either. They are always complaining about everything and telling young people to stay away from architecture. And seeing the general attitude of the users of this site, I can tell that architecture is a joke to most people...

Since 4th I started to doubt myself whether I should continue with this profession or not. With only one year to graduate and through my family's persistence, I decided to graduate with B Arch and maybe pursue my Masters degree in more scientific and technical field, such as civil or structural engineering. I always thought engineering is as fascinating as architecture. However, after talking to a guy who studied engineering, he scoffed at the idea. Basically  it's near impossible for an architect to go back and study engineering because we have to go back to undergrad and start out with core curriculum. Even my family doesn't support the idea.

People will always say you should follow your heart or your passion, but to be frank that is the worst advise to give when it comes to reality of life: paying bills, putting food on table, having roof over our heads, etc.

I love architecture, but I hate the people who are involved in it.