Archinect
anchor

Confused about Career: Architect or Urban Planner

katsuing

How do I decide between pursuing a career as an architect, or a career in urban planning?

I am an upperclassman in an undergrad architecture program in the US- and I am approaching time to choose grad school. 

I always thought I'd be an architect ever since I was 11. I have worked in a handful of smaller architecture firms, been in the undergrad scene of architecture for 6 years (was part time for a while so I could work, hence the extended time period), and suddenly I am finding myself wondering if being an architect isn't for me.

I feel pretty worn out, I despise hand-making models in class, and I never feel like putting in insane amount of work into my projects like my peers. I also feel discouraged by working in the real world firms: the architects I have seen have always seemed overworked, underpaid, and somewhat cynical. 

On the other hand, I love architectural history and political science (I am working on two minors in these). I like reading Jane Jacobs, theories about The Radiant City, etc. I am very interested in the idea of architecture changing society and making places safer and developing places into better versions of themselves. This makes me wonder if I would like Urban Planning.

Here are my concerns though:

-I've been in school a long time. Maybe I just feel burned out because it's been a long time. Then again, this doesn't even compare to doing this for my whole LIFE. I'm tired after 6 years, but then expect to be passionate for 50? 

-I have wanted to be an architect since I was 11. After so many years, I'm going to run off of a total whim in my last years of undergrad?

-Urban Planning isn't really "design". Will I miss it? It's hard to tell with my current feelings of fatigue.