Archinect
anchor

how to make a 15 MB Portfolio turn 4 MB

ghitabennis

Hi !

Im a french arch student looking for an intership in New York, most of the firms impose a 4MB portfolio ... In Indesign I reduced to the minimum quality but its still too heavy ( 15MB for a A5 portfolio containing around 35 pages), does anyone have any other suggestion ? 

thaannnk youuuu

Mar 2, 17 11:02 am
natematt

Less pages. Seriously. That's probably too many pages to get down to 4mb. And as the requirement might then suggest, more pages than they want you to send to them.

A couple of thoughts on top of that though. One trick though for keeping size down and text readable is to export everything except text as jpegs and then place them back in a file with the text over them, that will give you low res images with crisp vector text and still small size files. Another thing is to make sure you are printing to pdf rather than exporting, it helps.

Mar 2, 17 11:22 am  · 
 · 
randomised

Reduce your portfolio from 35 to 9⅓ pages or from A5 to 8,316mm² and Bob's your uncle.

Mar 2, 17 11:29 am  · 
 · 
archi_dude

Print a PDF instead of exporting

Mar 2, 17 11:50 am  · 
 · 
tduds

35 Pages is too many. Make a 10 page teaser, 5 spreads of whatever you're most proud of. Distill like hell.

Bring the full portfolio to interviews where it might get more than 90 seconds of attention.

Mar 2, 17 11:53 am  · 
 · 
accesskb

35 sounds like too much... You could pack a lot and give them an idea of your capabilities in 10 pages, unless all you got to show is fancy renderings and each of them take up the whole page

Mar 2, 17 7:00 pm  · 
 · 
Ven-

https://smallpdf.com/

Good luck.

Mar 2, 17 9:41 pm  · 
 · 
arifj