Archinect
anchor

Relationship between architecture and video games

varunsharma

Hi,

I am a fourth year student currently doing internship . Next year i have to thesis and i wanted to do it on the relationship between architecture and video games. 

The relationship i am talking about is basically spatial design. since architecture is the one thing that connects the real world and the virtual world through which we can relate. 

now this topic is theoretical. Is it possible to develop it into a architectural thesis or do I need to change the topic

any help or suggestion is appreciated.

Mar 1, 17 12:42 am
natematt

I think it would interesting to study the the ways in which they differ and why. I think focusing down on particular aspects of why they do/don't align could have solid results.

A challenge would be making it seem like an entirely serious project and not having to spend an unfortunate amount of time explaining video games. Makes me think it might be better as a non-thesis research project really, but it could be done.

Mar 1, 17 1:43 am  · 
1  · 
varunsharma

Thanks for the feedback, I want to narrow down the topic to develop it more. i have done some research on it and yes it more non thesis research. basically how different types of games use architecture, how it changes the way designing, etc.  The topic right now it too wide and i have to make more architectural.

Mar 1, 17 2:13 am  · 
 · 
randomised

I actually got interested in architecture partly because of building my own levels for Duke Nukem 3D back in the day:

These are just random google searches, don't have my own levels any more :(

Mar 1, 17 3:49 am  · 
2  · 
Jaetten

I used to use a program called Game Maker, version 5 I believe, I made my own version of Doom that was based on Warhammer 40k.

Jun 25, 20 4:54 am  · 
 · 
przemula