Archinect
anchor

Acceptance at UBC and McGill

NickaM

Hello everyone,

I've applied to UBC and McGill for the Master of Architecture program, I'm still waiting for my acceptance letter, they said it will arrive from March-June ( if I do get accepted that is), and I'm actually pretty nervous, because firstly, even though I am a Canadian citizen I got my Bachelor of Architectural Engineering from Iran, so I am a little nervous about their opinion of schools in Iran. My second concern is the priorities that the admission committee at both schools have in mind while viewing applications. To tell you the truth I've had a pretty hard 4 years back here I lost a loved one and my mother was sick (thankfully now she's better) and as I was a sole care giver, considering life circumstances it was a little hard for me to focus on my studies. Anyway, I was able to reach a CGPA of 3.00 which was the minimum CGPA required for both schools. My portfolio and CV and cover letter and reference letters are really good, I'm pretty confident about them, it's just my grades that worry me. Does anyone know what the admission committee focus on the most? I wish to get accepted in both schools, although I am wishing a bit harder on McGill, because it is only 1.5 years, whereas UBC is 3 years, and I am guessing that means I'll probably have to study some courses I've already studied. Thank you in advance for your kind responses.

Feb 28, 17 12:46 pm
Non Sequitur

To be brutally honest, McGill is the 2nd best program in the country and is very competitive. Most applicants have local (and relevant) architecture backgrounds too. UBC's 3y deal is ideal for foreign educated students because it will, as you suspect, provide you with courses most non-arch applicants do not have.  It may be repetitive at times, but compared to the higher-standard applicants at McGill, it's a more reasonable target.

Feb 28, 17 3:52 pm  · 
 · 
NickaM