Archinect
anchor

Getting back into the profession

mozart1

Hello all:

I am a professional who has a degree in architecture but has not as of yet worked at an architecture firm. I understand I would probably have to start at the bottom as a CAD guy, but this is not an issue for me. My question is: am I still able to market myself as a viable option as an employee, even though I've never worked in an architecture firm and am almost five years out of school? I have worked with AutoCAD and with architectural drawings, but in another industry entirely.

DETAILS: I graduated in 2012 with a BS in Architecture and after that worked in architectural surveying for a year. Since then, I've been employed at a decor/printing company providing CAD services for clients. The job description essentially boils down to doing anything CAD related for our clients. While I do not create construction documents, I do modify drawings sent by architects for clarity for our own purposes. I draw basic elevations from time to time. My design experience is largely in decor items using AutoCAD and Solidworks (signage, frames, shelves, assemblies). 

Thank you.

Feb 14, 17 10:58 pm
randomised

Maybe try a firm that does a lot of interiors where the experience in decor items might come in handy, and you're not immediately overwhelmed with regulations and such.

Feb 15, 17 4:24 am  · 
 · 
archiwutm8

TBH Most firms will probably take you over a graduate cause you have experience with all the software and office experience.

Feb 15, 17 12:21 pm  · 
 · 
Bloopox