Archinect
anchor

General contractor wishing to become architect. Advice sought.

wu-wei

Hi,

As per the title really, I'm a contractor from the UK. I'm 28 years old. I wish to become an architect. 

My work history:

I left school at 16 to work for my father who was a well respected contractor in my local area, as was his father and so on. I've been very fortunate to receive a good education of the process of building from him. Initially sweeping up and making the tea, through to learning various trades from craftsman who worked on our projects.

At 20 years old my father bought a plot of land to build an apartment block of 4, and instructed me to be in charge of the build. I was thrown in at the deep end not really knowing enough to take on a project like that at the time. My father was keeping a watchful eye without me knowing and I had a team of supportive tradesman helping to see it though to the end. I've been running projects ever since.

My father retired when i was 24 and I've been running the business with him at the end of the phone since. I've managed to build a reputation for myself as a contractor experienced in modern methods of construction with a built portfolio of mostly high end additions/extensions and custom houses. I have drafting/cad skills, knowledge of planning permission, building regulations and contracts. A lot of my work is via negotiation which gives me the opportunity to work with architects early on in the process to help with issues regarding buildability and costs. I like to think they value my help with material choice and detail design.

I've got an level 7 nvq diploma in senior construction management (qualified from experience) and I'm currently preparing for my professional review to become a chartered builder.

My ambitions: