Archinect
anchor

How much should I get paid?

nahsil

A little about myself: I have about 2.5 years of experience. I'm done with ARE and AXP and waiting for my licensed to be approved in the state of Illinois ( I work in California though). There is an annual review coming in a few weeks.

My question: I am not sure if I should ask for a wage that matches the prevailing wage for architect as listed on department of labor's website for my region? That number is about 1.5 times what I am currently earning. I know it is not typical to get a 50% raise through annual review. Also, I know my experience level is not the same as most architects who had at least 5 years of experience when they got their license. But still, I am an architect.

I work very hard at work and I like my job. I don't know if I should ask for a wage that might sounds aggressive.

Thank you in advance:)

Feb 6, 17 2:42 am
chigurh

only way you are going to get that is by moving to a new company.

your employers are used to paying you a specific rate, you got your license and your skillset is the same and now you want 50% more money...not gonna happen.

Feb 6, 17 8:43 am  · 
 · 
On the fence

1st, you would need to be licensed in the state in which you are working.

2nd, prevailing wages don't mean crap.

Get what you can or make the move out.  Expecting a 50% raise is crazy.  You may have moved too fast through IDP and licensure.  Not really a bad thing except perception on the part of employers plus you already know that your experience is short.

Feb 6, 17 9:04 am  · 
 · 
kjdt

The DOL's prevailing wage data for "Architect" is compiled form everyone in the field, up to and including firms' owners, PMs with 30+ years of experience, ancient spec writers, etc.