Archinect
anchor

What do you think of my reading speed?

Non-ASD Jequitarchitectur

I am reading a book on building construction and it takes me 50 minutes/ 5 pages. Then I have a 10min break and continue. I spend 4 hours reading everyday which equals to 20 pages a day.

Do you think this is slow?

Jan 28, 17 6:58 am

I forgot to mention that I am a student and that the book I am reading is in English which isn't my native language.

Jan 28, 17 7:29 am  · 
 · 
awaiting_deletion

daer, that is fine as long as you feel you fully understand what you have read.  speed readers never speed read anything of any substance nor do they do more than remember facts, which is different than understanding.

think of it this way, you're looking at a math formula, a math formula is maybe a sentence long, but it might take a week to fully understand, you may have to do other research, an Immanuel Kant walk around the block etc...

keep reading!

Jan 28, 17 7:48 am  · 
 · 
thisisnotmyname

Your speed sounds ok for a non-native English speaker.  Like Max says, understanding what you read is key over speed at this point.  Speed will come with continued effort.

I'm seeing a lot of new college graduates working in our office that don't appear to be able to read or write at a college level.  They are native-born and educated in the USA.

Jan 28, 17 11:45 am  · 
 · 
kjdt

I think it depends on why you're asking the question.  Since you posted the question in the "Academia" category, I'm guessing you're a student.  If you're studying in an English-based program this might pose a problem - or maybe not.  It depends on how much assigned reading is typical in your program, and on how much flexibility you have in choosing a course load that requires more or less reading.