Archinect
anchor

restoration vs Landscape architecture

Diana Quinn

Hello, I have a question about which one of these two, restoration vs landscape architecture/urbanism will be more demanded in the near future? And also, as a young architect, in which field would be more easy to get a job?

Jan 22, 17 12:50 pm

Why either or? Done right, couldn't landscape architecture/urbanism included restoration. Although albeit maybe less rewilding and more NextNature?

Jan 23, 17 12:56 am  · 
 · 
randomised

They are like apples and oranges but they're both fruit :) 

Check out RAAAF, they were originally working on more landscape-like projects but they now also work in restoration and preservation of built objects and industrial monuments in a very interesting and conceptually provocative way. 

Jan 24, 17 4:41 am  · 
 · 

So funny, I started landscape architecture and thought of doing restoration, almost moved, but at the end finished. Now I am a landscape architectural engineer (BLA) and do not work in the field, as it is really difficult to get a job, given other circumstances, like education, degree translation, language skills and then all the other things related to maintaining a strong dictionary and knowledge library, when you are from another country and just did a mayor move.