Archinect
anchor

Should I stay or should I go (to a new firm)

home_alone

Hello fellow archies - 

I need some advice and this is my first post so please go easy on me!

I have 6 years experience in the same boutique firm and have had the same job since graduating. I quickly worked my way up and watched the company grow from 4-12 people during my tenure. I am now handling pretty much 50% of the business including client lead, PM for the most complex jobs, overseeing drafters, juniors and assistant PM's, writing contracts, marketing, seeking out new work, landing a few jobs, etc. I get profit sharing and my base salary is 85K with 10K bonus compensation last year. 

The firm has not been around that long and definitely skews younger and the owner is in his late 30's, unlicensed, a great designer, well connected, but not very experienced before going on his own.

I feel I am ready for a change and want to do larger projects and finish IDP. I also want to be around people that know much more than me so I can learn. 

The problem is that I am really in a mgmt position and my salary is much higher than your average 6 years experience Intermediate Architect. Of course I am out of practice when it comes to heavy design production work and I'm overseeing the drafting teams now rather than putting documents together myself. I have a family and typically high urban cost of living and my wife has her own brand new design start up so I need to have the stable income. 

Should I take a lower paying, less glamorous position in a larger office so I can learn more than just residential interiors and new home construction which is our current primary market? 

Or should I stay where I am and try to utilize my influence to direct the firm towards hiring more experienced people I can learn under? No matter what I cannot get licensed working here so what's the point?