Archinect
anchor

How can I get back on track in architecture?

Beshoy Adel

Hello. I graduated from architectural engineering school 4 months ago, and I thought I didn't like the field, so I moved to graphic design and I fiddled around in it for the past couple of months, but then I realized I don’t care for the outcome/product of graphic design. 

Although I succeeded in graphic design but I didn't feel it’s meaningful enough. It took me to know that applying to more than 20 jobs and getting accepted lastly and seeing at my first unofficial day of work that I don’t give a damn about what I’m doing, graphic design just felt more sexy and less stressful than architecture, now I feel that I didn't give architecture a good chance and decided I didn't like it based on bad experiences in school or dull educational ways. Now I want to get back on track, unfortunately all my training in school was software courses and not hands on training, now I want to know what should I do, if there are any resources on-line for example to help me gain a little bit of expertise in architecture until I find an internship/job opportunity (I am from Egypt and I can only talk about here but ever architectural firm wants architects with at least more than a year of experience, almost no opportunities for fresh graduates), I started reminding myself of the software and started building a visualization portfolio but I need resources to understand a bit of professional, career driven, on-site/office architectural skills.

I'm sorry if my English or my question(s) were not clear enough. If anything is not clear please let me know. Thank's a lot.

Jan 5, 17 6:59 pm
accesskb

dude.. you've only been out of architecture for 4months? xD  People take a break from architecture for 5 or even 10 years before transitioning back. ;)

Jan 5, 17 11:34 pm  · 
 · 
Non Sequitur
4months and you're already at this state of desperation? Fucking hipsters!
Jan 5, 17 11:45 pm  · 
 · 
RTVSkaarchitecture