Archinect
anchor

Working in Real Estate making $$$, but how can I gain IDP/work experience?

batman

I will be working in real estate starting this year (couldn't pass up that $$$ salary). I have a dual degree in both architecture & real estate, but since I will be working in real estate I won't be gaining IDP hours or work experience. Unfortunately my real estate job won't touch any architectural design per say, but its definitely at the intersection of the two fields. 

I eventually want to transfer back to architecture/design role (i dont even know how or what position I can qualify without starting as an intern).

What can I do to gain relevant work experience(and get IDP hours) ?

Has anyone been in my shoes and transferred back to architecture? what did you transfer into and did it make equivalent salary?

I eventually want to run my own firm and that does development and design.

Jan 4, 17 9:10 pm
Non Sequitur

Are you working under a licensed architect? Are you managing construction or producing construction drawings? If not, then it's hardly likely that you'll be able to claim any IDP. I would strongly disagree that real-estate and architecture go hand-in-hand by default.

What's a $$$ salary anyways?

Jan 4, 17 9:16 pm  · 
 · 
batman

Are you working under a licensed architect?

no

Are you managing construction or producing construction drawings?

If not, then it's hardly likely that you'll be able to claim any IDP. I would strongly disagree that real-estate and architecture go hand-in-hand by default.

What's a $$$ salary anyways?

$80-100K

Jan 4, 17 9:17 pm  · 
 · 
Non Sequitur

^stay in real-estate until you have the chops and experience to hire your own architect and drafting team.

Jan 4, 17 9:20 pm  · 
 · 
batman

so long sweet love

Jan 4, 17 9:39 pm  · 
 · 
chigurh

making "$$$" gonna be an architect on the side.

Jan 4, 17 10:08 pm  · 
 · 
On the fence