Archinect
anchor

General firm culture in LA or SF

remedios521

Hi good people I'm an architectural intern working in a corporate firm in Minneapolis and about to graduate with M.Arch degree this spring. I'm looking to relocate to California (mainly because of weather otherwise I love this city). I've been looking at mainly LA and SF and I know they are very different (I don't even think I can afford to live in SF with an architect intern salary) but I wanted to just get an idea from anyone who works there about the general culture of architecture offices there. It might be different from one office to another so whatever input you can provide would be great. I really like my firm now. It is very supportive of interns, always trying to find interesting work for me to do. They are flexible with hours, they pay overtime. People are allowed to work at home if they want (not me but more experienced architects). They don't expect interns to work overtime and most young architects or interns don't as long as they finish their task. It is a nice place to start as a young architect. I have few passions that I like to pursue in my free time and so to have some time after work is really important to me to grow as a designer. So what I am wondering about is would this be very different in big cities like LA or SF? Is there as much consideration for life/work balance in where you work? Not only in these two cities but other places in California too. Thanks!

Jan 3, 17 8:35 am
“””1991”

I used to work in LA before moving to Chicago. Here's a good thread about this very thing 

http://archinect.com/forum/thread/108753934/employment-help-in-los-angeles

Jan 3, 17 10:28 am  · 
 · 
archietechie

^ Why are you still here trolling koz?

Jan 3, 17 10:32 am  · 
 · 
“””1991”

^ NOT koz

In all seriousness, the cost of living in either city is ridiculous. That's part of the reason I took a job in Chicago

Jan 3, 17 10:39 am  · 
 · 
archietechie

I apologize...

Jan 3, 17 10:53 am  · 
 ·