Archinect
anchor

Tapped to help out with the family biz....

manoverde84

So I've been tapped to help run the family biz which is subcontracting drywall construction co. Apparently, my family needs help with 30 jobs they're bidding and if even a quarter of them go through it would be tough for them to manage them all.

Currently, I have no construction experience. I took two construction management courses, one in construction contracts and the other in construction materials. So I know a cursory basic introductory knowledge of gypsum and interior walls. I know more about the estimating and bidding process, AIA construction contracts, liens, surety bonds, labor laws, etc. The closest thing to estimating we learned in class was how to calculate sheets of drywall needed through an app called Buildcalc.

I know how to use Excel proficiently and can probably pick up Excel estimating through some youtube videos.

Given all this I am sure they will train me but as far as what I know now is it sufficient to bring to the table? Would I just stick out like a sore thumb and need extensive training? How hard is it to learn how to estimate a job? I know Microsoft office, I have a degree in Economics and am comfortable with math

Can I hit the ground running? I don't want to be a burden. Anyone with construction experience, help! What can I learn right now to get a better understanding of what I am getting into before I go back home mid January.

Dec 11, 16 2:04 pm
geezertect

Why the panic?  It's a family business, not a meritocracy.  That said, estimating square footages of wall and ceiling surfaces is not exactly brain surgery.  Jump in with both feet.  You'll learn a lot and may discover that construction management is something you are good at and enjoy.  It certainly pays better than architecture.  That's a good thing!

Dec 11, 16 2:56 pm  · 
 · 
manoverde84