Archinect
anchor

Consistency in Architectural Jobs

detanon

All - I have been working in architecture for the last 7 years, went through 7 years of school prior to that. 

I have managed to almost always work at small/boutique offices (for better or worse), and have been able to work on some seriously cool projects. But I have found serious issues with continuous vile-conflict with certain coworkers and inconsistency in work. Although conflict is inevitable, I have found it particularly frustrating surrounding a work environment that does not template or create a consistent workflow -- that does not have a "way."

Additionally, those interactions have burned down any desire for design. Although I still have a significant interest in art and music. I have no burning desire...

...to be on the front lines, to be honest, I just want to work, make money and go home, and have a quality work-life balance. I have almost always been told "that's not possible" by colleagues, a-la-internet-or-in-person.

My real questions are...

Is there an area of architecture/planning/construction, that truly offers a consistent workflow with tamer personalities?

Where do I look?

What other profession could I find a way into with this background and experience?

I am an ENFP (should that mean anything to you)..pleading for help here...

Dec 2, 16 9:56 am
Non Sequitur

Yeah, there totally is.... quite literally everywhere else. Just look around other office, ask for their turn-over rate and average employee length of employment.

These are indicators that that office has good life-balance and steady work. Not sure why you assume conflict is inevitable, perhaps that is part of the problem since you expect to bump heads where it should not be the case.

Alternatively, you can just get licensed and start your own thing. After 7y exp, you should already be anyways.

Dec 2, 16 10:09 am  · 
 · 
archietechie

"...ask for their turn-over rate and average employee length of employment"

This.