Archinect
anchor

suicide of an architect

awaiting_deletion

so I've thought about killing myself for years, but then I remembered I was an architect, and when I did that I went all all Ayn Rand on my ass and well now I have a beautiful wife and children and I owe it to them to hang out.

Sometimes I wonder, is Patrick Schumacher lonely or just insane?

[don't worry I won't do it tonight, have too many deadlines]

Just wondering, if other architects, that aren't Patrick, like me, feel the same way?

Nov 24, 16 1:21 am
chigurh

If you are feeling that way, I would suggest seeking out professional help and if your career is a driver for the feelings of depression - change it.

Nov 24, 16 8:55 am  · 
 · 
Non Sequitur
Thumbs up to Chig's post. I've been there before, prior to arch school.
Nov 24, 16 9:09 am  · 
 · 
awaiting_deletion

what are the triggers of the profession?

Nov 24, 16 9:54 am  · 
 · 
awaiting_deletion

tell us more Q

Nov 24, 16 12:50 pm  · 
 · 
natematt

Statistics say architecture/engineering is one of the worst professions for suicide. A friend of mine lost a co-worker a couple years back, and last year an engineer on my project committed suicide. I was waiting for an email response from the guy...

It’s a stressful profession with awful work-life balance, low pay, and very little appreciation.

Nov 24, 16 1:30 pm  · 
 · 
curtkram

If things get too shitty, come back to the Midwest.  The pace is slower and the people are kind of more decent

Nov 24, 16 2:42 pm  · 
 · 
Wilma Buttfit

Ease up on the crazy deadlines. Everyone does not need their drawings done the day before Thanksgiving. 

Nov 24, 16 5:14 pm  · 
 · 
citizen

Your danged right you owe it to your family to stick around.  Surviving families of suicides are dealt an unfair, impossibly heavy burden to wonder and feel guilty about for the rest of their lives.