Archinect
anchor

Portfolio feedback && how to show professional work

Hi all --

I'm currently interviewing with my first "professional" portfolio. I have 3-4 years of professional experience now, and have removed all my academic projects from my latest portfolio (except for my thesis which I was still planning to show)

The link is below, I really struggled with making this -- for many reasons which are also bulleted below. If any hiring managers could offer me feedback and clear up my questions I would be so grateful

http://issuu.com/adobbs/docs/dobbs_portfolio_2016?e=1

specific questions --

• Length.... is it too short?
  • CV's/Resumes: I notice some people allocate the first couple pages to include their resume. Is this necessary? Do employers have a preference?
  • Balancing photos (which I didn't personally) with cad details (which I did draw personally). How much of each to include // or simply -- am I balancing the two OK? Thoughts please!
  • Overall format, how many projects to include && do employers have a preference regarding overall size of hard copy

tl;dr: I'm looking for for honest feedback from hiring managers. Portfolio link above, let me know what you think!

Nov 23, 16 10:57 am

Make sure you credit the photographers. It is a decent length but could use more substance, details, drawings/renderings/sketches you did, etc... I typically do my resume/cover letter in a separate file. Make sure the hard copy isn't obnoxious and hard to carry/file.

Also, make the cover something you've worked on.

Nov 23, 16 11:29 am  · 
 · 
natematt

I think it's really odd that you would have that personal non-architectural work section in there but feel compelled to take out school work (minus your thesis) 

Unless you have something really exceptional for personal non-architectural work I would ditch it for sure. If you need more stuff, add another school project, or more professional work. 

It felt a little brief. Maybe it just needed more content.