Archinect
anchor

Which comes first? Concept or Forming a Floor Plan?

jianenorielnaval

I've been an architecture student for 5 years yet I still don't know how should I start working on my plate. On my previous design classes, my professors would always remind me that I should start creating a floor plan and apply concepts for the elevation. However in my present design class my current professor would ask us to form a concept first then afterwards create a floor plan. Which one should I do first? Start doing my plate right away or form a concept first?

Also, may I ask for some tips on how should I really start doing my design? Because I always end up procrastinating and I want to avoid that as soon as possible. I also take too much time in research. Can you help me?

Nov 1, 16 11:44 am
Non Sequitur

5 years and you still don't understand that design is subjective and not easy-to-follow paint-by-number rule-driven? How have you not flunked out yet?

Nov 1, 16 11:50 am  · 
 · 
chigurh

don't over think it - everybody had different approaches and your professors are not right or wrong.  The most important think you can do is try all techniques and see what resonates with you.  The emphasis on concept can sometimes drive a project from the beginning or the concept can emerge from process, by starting work first.  The important thing here is to always remember that your professors approach shouldn't become yours by default, remember to find your own creative process - that is the end goal.

Nov 1, 16 11:51 am  · 
 · 
archietechie