Archinect
anchor

Residential Architecture less competition?

arivas208

Currently, I work construction management for a large general contractor in the Denver area. I also work as a freelance residential designer/drafter for a couple of local architects. They both seem to be extremely busy and very well off. One of them mentioned to me that he currently had 17 projects he was working on. The other one has a huge backlog of CAD work he has lined up for me. Is it just me or does residential design seem to be less appealing to younger architects? Does mostly everyone starting out lean to more of the commercial type of work? Thanks! 

Oct 31, 16 1:42 pm
x intern
Unless you have connections to people with a lot of money residential work is a quick way to go under. They eat time and have a small fee.
Oct 31, 16 1:48 pm  · 
 · 
3tk

Seems like it's less appealing to younger designers - hard to find people with good experience in it.  I'm assuming that it's because it's not published visibly.  Odd considering you get more involved in all aspects of a project quickly, and given the right demographic of clients, pays rather well.

Oct 31, 16 2:03 pm  · 
 · 
JLC-1

what x says, of course residential is appealing to youngsters, but to start their own firms and jump into stardom by doing their parents and their friend's third homes in Gstaad.

Oct 31, 16 3:04 pm  · 
 · 
archiwutm8

I personally have no interest in luxury residential projects which is most residential projects, rarely will I get a good residential one.

Nov 1, 16 5:27 am  · 
 · 
thisisnotmyname

The majority of houses in the USA have pitched roofs, wood or brick cladding, and punched openings.  The design of such houses is generally not taught in American architecture schools.

Nov 1, 16 9:57 am  · 
 · 
JLC-1

^you are correct, all that you learn by working at a development company.

Nov 1, 16 10:18 am  · 
 · 
makingspace

residential is the absolute worst market for many reasons 

low fees