Archinect
anchor

place for people suffering with depression

archi15

Hi, 

i am a student of b-arch

doing my final thesis. I am designing a space for people with mental health problems, mainly depression, as I feel these are some of the many mental health issues that are hidden from society due to their stigma. It will be a place for people to go to when they are feeling down or if there is too much going on in their lives. Maybe short term for and hour or maybe for a whole week, that information will come from anyone who gives me information through the survey.

I have created two surveys to help me formulate my thesis topic. I'm not allowed to use my own experiences with depression as it would be too subjective which is why it would be great if anyone would like to take a moment to answer my questions so that I can have a good basis for my design and we can get more of an awareness out about mental health!

If there were an ideal place for you to go when you were feeling down,

-where would it be?

-who would be there?

-what would you do there?

Oct 13, 16 4:21 pm

I think you are going about it slightly the wrong way - if this is a place for people with depression and you yourself have suffered from it, you should absolutely take your own experiences into account as you are designing. You should also think about the idea of this being a framework for people to come in and make it what they want - be it a place to receive mental healthcare services, a place to socialize in small groups, a place to be alone. Everyone's journey through depression is different. Some people crawl into a cave. Some people take an international vacation, some people socialize like no other to combat it. We all have our own devices we use.

Go for it, and keep us posted. This is an interesting beginning.

Oct 13, 16 4:39 pm  · 
 · 
BulgarBlogger