Archinect
anchor

Seeking an on-line graduate mentor / critic

leriotdelac

Hi, al!!

I am a graduate student at a so-so architectural program in the USA. Now my problem is that the studio class does not teach me anything that I did not know before so far. Professors are not demanding and other students are not ambitious. I wanted to get into a stronger and more innovative school but had to choose a financially feasible option, but now I feel like I am wasting my time here.

I am looking for someone from a leading school or a major practice to be my mentor and review my studio work once or twice on-line.

If anyone is feeling kind enough please write me: [email protected]

Oct 7, 16 12:07 pm

School is what you make of it. If you feel you aren't learning anything, you aren't pushing yourself hard enough. If the professors aren't demanding, make demands of yourself. And so what the other students aren't ambitious, they have nothing to do with your work.

Oct 7, 16 12:33 pm  · 
 · 
Non Sequitur

^that

Oct 7, 16 12:35 pm  · 
 · 
x intern
Second
A studio project can be as easy or complicated as you want to make it.
Oct 7, 16 1:23 pm  · 
 · 
leriotdelac

Thank you for replies,

I know how important is a personal commitment and extensive effort. I am trying to learn new things, to push myself harder, only getting drowned in the amount of resources available: books, tutorials, lecture records. I feel that I do not get anywhere like this because I do not get any feedback.

My professors are preparing me for a professional practice, but I have practiced for several years before. I want something more than becoming a "good architect". I need some guidance not because I am lazy, but because I want to learn things that I know nothing about. There is only so much that a person can teach themselves, especially in a creative field. If it were not like this, there would be no point in studying architecture in universities at all.

Oct 7, 16 6:44 pm  · 
 · 
archietechie