Archinect
anchor

Should I pursue B. of Environmental Design then M.Arch OR just B. Arch then M.Arch

Naing Zaw

Hey,

I apologize ahead, if i say something wrong. Currently, i'm in United States. I have 2 years of GE credits in a Community College. When I transfer to Cal Poly Pomona which is B.Arch 5 years program, I have to start from the first year. This is because I have zero experience in Architecture. Basically, i'm going to spend around 7 years just for B.Arch.

So the plan is I'm transferring to 4-year Bachelor of Environmental Design major in Canada, University of British Columbia, after my first year at Pomona. According to their webpage, I could get a degree in 2 years in Bachelor of Environmental Design. If I do that, my two years at Community College is not going to be a waste. Also, upon graduating, I plan to pursue M.Arch somewhere. Within 7 years, I will not only have a B. of Environmental Design as well as M. Arch, which sounds pretty cool. 

Is it a good plan? Or should I stay in Cal Poly Pomona and finish B.Arch? I'm scared that Cal Poly Pomona is not going to help me achieve greater. Please help me out!

A million THANKS!

Oct 2, 16 4:36 pm
Volunteer

At NC State University if you complete their four-year Environmental Design degree you can be awarded a Bachelor in Architecture with one additional year of study, or a Master's degree in Architecture with two additional years of study.

Oct 2, 16 6:09 pm  · 
 · 
Non Sequitur

This sounds complicated. Why go from an accredited (B.arch) degree to a 4-year filler bachelor's (BED)? You're B.arch is enough, no need for M.arch... and chances are you'll have the same level of portfolio.

Oct 2, 16 9:10 pm  · 
 · 
Naing Zaw

Hello Non Sequitur

is it possible that having M.arch degree looks good on your resume? 

Oct 2, 16 11:10 pm  · 
 · 
Non Sequitur
Who cares about what looks good? What do you want to do? Practice or spend money collecting degrees?