Archinect
anchor

Interior architecture undergraduate programs

I'm an incoming freshman and was accepted to both University of Texas Austin Interior Design program and University of Oregon Interior Architecture program.  I chose to go to the University of Oregon because I live in Oregon and will get in state tuition plus I got a $24,000 merit based scholarship so I am looking at $100,000.00 for their five year Bachelor of Interior Architecture degree. I did not get a scholarship for Texas and I would be looking at $200,000.00  for their four year Bachelor of Science in Interior Design. I'm still wondering if I made the right choice.  Any thoughts?

Sep 17, 16 12:57 am
Non Sequitur

$100k to $200k to learn how to pick furniture from a catalog and move cubicles around does not seem like a smart investment.

Sep 17, 16 5:12 am  · 
 · 
thisisnotmyname

As neither one appears to make you eligible to eventually get an architectural license, I suggest Oregon because it is less expensive.

Putting the name 'interior architecture" on an interior design program is misleading to say the least.

Sep 18, 16 3:16 pm  · 
 · 
knock knock

Non Sequitur, could you not answer every thread before everybody with your demeaning and sarcastic posts? You must be a real jerk with low self esteem. In fact, you are as bad as your nemesis Richard Balkins.

How the hell you came up with "$100k to $200k to learn how to pick furniture from a catalog and move cubicles around does not seem like a smart investment"​ ? Do you really think that's all what the interior designers do?

Sep 18, 16 3:48 pm  · 
 · 
Non Sequitur
^yes.
Sep 18, 16 8:36 pm  · 
 · 
Beepbeep

well at U of O you can go into the M.arch program w/ advanced standing after the Interior Arch degree and get your license

Sep 19, 16 11:06 pm  · 
 · 
thisisnotmyname

Based on what Beepbeep says, that's another good reason to go to Oregon instead of Austin.

Sep 20, 16 12:19 pm  · 
 · 

Block this user