Archinect
anchor

Toward an architecture-job in NY

ztazen

Hi guys, 
I am a Moroccan/American architect, After living in Morocco for most of my life, studying in France, and working in both countries, I am now projecting to move "back" to the US, and specifically to New York.
I have been sending job application for the past month, but I still haven't heard from any of the firms, so I wanted to get your opinions.
Maybe there's something wrong that just slipped from radar, or something I should add in there. Or maybe it's unrelated to my application? 

So this is the shorter version of my portfolio: PORTFOLIO 
And this is the cover letter and resume : COVER

Thanks in advance for your feedback !

Sami

Sep 12, 16 12:25 pm
jcarch

The cover letter is lorem ipsum text.  I'm going to assume that you haven't been sending this version out to firms.

I would make it clear in your letter that you're an American citizen.  We get lots of resumes from people from abroad who apparently have zero understanding that they'd need a visa to come to the US and work.  These applicants don't get considered for an open position.  I know your address is in the US, but your education and experience all would lead me to believe that you were French or Moroccan.  I'd make this clear both in your cover letter, and on your resume.

I'm also very hesitant to have people travel across the country for junior level positions.  That may be just me, but I think it's a pretty widely held feeling, particularly for smaller firms.  You can counteract this by saying in your letter that you'll be in NYC the week of October 10th, and would be available for an interview then (even if it's not true).  That takes away my worry that you're going to drop $1,000 in air fare to fly to NYC for an interview for a position that you may not be offered.