Archinect
anchor

Giving a Young Architect a Chance

Finch

Hi everyone,

I'm a regular on another professional career forum and often get interesting questions from those outside the profession, so I thought now that I have a question about architectural practice I might do the same thing and outsource it here.

My wife and I got an incredible deal on a beautiful vacant waterfront property in Ontario.  We'd like to do something a little different with it, and to that end were thinking about picking out a young architect and basically turning him or her loose.  We have a few "must haves", of course, but what we'd really like is a space designed to fit into the surroundings and show off a little creativity. We'd rather have a smart architectural landmark than something we've ruined through micromanagement.

Now, over in the legal profession, it's often the case that young or inexperienced lawyers can do an incredible job and are looking for a 'big break' to build their resume.  I have to imagine the same is true of an architect's portfolio.  On my side of the fence, you might actually get better representation from a young lawyer giving you 110% subject to supervision than you would get from an overworked senior lawyer to whom you're just case #312.

Is that an apt parallel?  Would it be a big deal to a young architect to have a lot of creative freedom in designing a residential property?  Is it possible (or smart) to track one down, or is this a profession where you definitely want someone experienced to take the lead?

And if it is a good idea to try to give a young architect a break, how would one track them down? So many firms seem to have "firm portfolios" rather than portfolios for each individual architect.