Archinect
anchor

Are Architects arrogant?

wynne1architect@gmail.com

As an architect myself, do you sometimes reflect on the arrogance in our profession?

Sep 2, 16 1:09 pm
Non Sequitur

I'm not arrogant, it's just an unfortunate coincidence that I'm always correct.

Next question.

Sep 2, 16 1:15 pm  · 
 · 
JLC-1

try neurosurgeons or oncologists, you've got nothing on doctors.

Sep 2, 16 1:22 pm  · 
 · 
shellarchitect

i've been told by my wife that I'm impossible to argue with, is that the same thing?

Sep 2, 16 1:32 pm  · 
 · 
sameolddoctor

"try neurosurgeons or oncologists, you've got nothing on doctors."

With the difference that what their arrogance is justified. (Y)ours is purely because no one gives a rats ass about us.

Sep 2, 16 1:38 pm  · 
 · 
b3tadine[sutures]
Not arrogant, just right, all the time.
Sep 2, 16 1:38 pm  · 
 · 
JLC-1

sod; of course.

Sep 2, 16 1:56 pm  · 
 · 
mightyaa

It was once proclaimed proudly that the lights never turn off in the architecture building... so...

Sep 2, 16 3:47 pm  · 
 · 
b3tadine[sutures]
Mightyaa's yep.
Sep 2, 16 3:57 pm  · 
 · 
citizen

My first reaction to the question is no, not generally speaking.

Then I recall the occasional concentration of architects (and/or unlicensed designers) I've met over the years when joining studio reviews as a guest critic.  Sometimes I've been caught off guard at the pomposity** of many of them.  It's laughable how superior some act in that setting-- almost cartoonish aloofness, smugness, utter lack of humor.

**I think of it as pompous rather than arrogant, because it seems borne of insecurity rather than actual  accomplishment.  Get over yourself, prick, before someone lands a fist in that smug kisser.  And it just might be mine.  

The nice part, of course, is the group of nice, friendly, smart colleagues I also encounter.  Thank God for normal people.

Sep 2, 16 4:49 pm  · 
 · 
go do it

Yes, but most of you guys are nice about it.