Archinect
anchor

freelance work

mj100

Hello-

I will be doing some freelance work soon which will require me to sign and seal drawings. As this is my first time signing and sealing anything, what type of liability insurance should I get? Also, I want to protect my personal property (prepare for the worst and hope for the best...). What would be the best way to do that? Should my house be only in my husband's name? (I live in Florida).

Thanks

Sep 1, 16 7:47 pm
x-jla

I'd be more worried about protecting the house from that hurricane that's headed your way!!! But if your in a community property state not sure putting house in his name will matter?  Form an llc or pllc before you do any thing. 

Sep 1, 16 8:05 pm  · 
 · 
mj100

Can I form an LLC if I already work for someone else? (This is just freelance work)

Thanks

Sep 1, 16 8:12 pm  · 
 · 
MyDream

........I have been working so hard that I haven't even check about the hurricane!!!! My self study mixed with college I don't even know what is going on in the world...other than Facebook....Facebook pulls me away from my books and other studies. Anyways why would you freelance if you are a licensed? I would start my own firm........

Sep 1, 16 8:15 pm  · 
 · 
mj100

I can't afford to leave my job just yet...

Sep 1, 16 8:19 pm  · 
 · 
mj100

Right now, it would be best if I stayed at my job and did this other work as freelance work.

Sep 1, 16 8:21 pm  · 
 · 
MyDream