Archinect
anchor

Non-architect with the hopes of applying to a MArch program...advice??

videograms

Hello!

This is the first time I post about this, hope to find some good advice out there.

I've been out of undergrad for about a year now and I've become increasingly convinced that I should have entered into an architecture program due to some strong interests of mine. 

To avoid rambling I'll give some quick facts. 

• I graduated from NYU with a double major in Politics & Filmmaking with a focus on documentary filmmaking/visual anthropology. 
  • Most, if not all of my movies deal with urbanism/architecture in some way shape or form.
  • I just finished a specialization in an urban development lab in Colombia researching urban policy development. 
  • Currently interning for a collective of artists/architects helping to develop some events and projects around Colombia and abroad. 
  • I'll be traveling to Mexico in December to start working with a cultural development office.
  • No formal architecture training. No clue how to manage programs other than the basic (illustrator, photoshop, video editing software) 

Confusing, I know. However, I feel like I'm young enough (23) to make some shifts and changes. 

My grades in undergrad were decent (with honors), and I feel pretty pretty confident with taking the GRE. Also, understanding the financial cost involved, I'm willing to make the commitment.

From what I can tell, I'd ideally want to apply to a school that mixes urban design and architecture. My main research interests involve public space development but I'd ideally like to get an all encompassing view of the field.

My main questions are:

1. Without an architecture portafolio to show, what do admissions councils look at with non-arch applicants?
  2. I'm going to give myself at least a year to develop my application, what should I start to hone in on? Jobs? More school? 
  3. What work could be supplemented into the portafolio?