Archinect
anchor

Becoming an Architect vs Businessman.

vldesign

I would like to get your thoughts on what is more important, pursuing business knowledge or architecture knowledge (or a degree), or maybe put another way, is a architect at a huge disadvantage to reach success without any business knowledge?

A little bit about my situation, I graduated college from art school in Illustration in California, and noticed how ill prepared most students (including myself) were in marketing themselves and presenting their work as high value. A roommate of mine, that was business savvy from his father and built a successful motion graphics company, would brag "I used to idolize certain big name artists, now I hire them".

Today, I have my own company and work with a few architects that are out on their own and do awesome high level work, yet they struggle with the business aspect of architecture and often times they do not charge enough or adequately protect themselves with a contract, nor do they have a clue as to how to market their small business or create growth.

I have also heard stories about businessmen that did not know the first thing about architecture or construction, yet were able to build a profitable business off the talents of  architects and contractors that they hired due to their business knowledge and skills.

After being mentored by an architect shortly after graduating college and completing numerous residential projects, I attended a Architecture Masters program to obtain my license, but quit after three months. With the examples I have shown above, I have concluded that business management is paramount and more important then working for a Arch license.

I threw a lot of things out there and I am interested in thoughts you may have regarding everything and anything that comes to mind.

Aug 16, 16 5:08 pm

Today, architecture is a business.

Aug 16, 16 5:36 pm  · 
 · 
vldesign