Archinect
anchor

M Arch I Hopeful w/ Low GPA and a Lot of Questions

WannabeArchi

Hey so here's my situation,

I'm a recent graduate of the University of South Carolina with a BA in Philosophy with a heavy tilt in the arts (art studio classes/papers on art/art history/history of architecture). I have plenty of work to put into a portfolio for an M Arch application so I'm not worried about that. My real concern lies with my grades and recommendations...I finished with a 2.3 GPA and didn't really bother to build any relationships with my professors while in school, except a few that I connected with due being "gifted but lazy".

I'm currently studying for the GRE, working on my portfolio, and figuring out possible recommenders so I can apply for programs that start next fall.

So to put things into a couple of clear questions...what is my best course of action? Keep doing what I am doing? Should I take a couple classes on the side to pump my CV and a also grab a couple recommendations as well? What to do?

I should also add that the blandness and overall crappiness of life has beaten the lazy out of me and I am eager to work hard achieve this dream of mine.

Thanks guys!

Aug 8, 16 12:17 pm
EJimenez

I am in a similar situation as WannabeArchi. Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

Aug 8, 16 12:59 pm  · 
 · 
Jamb'd

Try to get an interview/meeting with the Director of the MArch program.  Ultimately, the director is the decision maker and you can convince them of your seriousness.  You will also probably need a good portfolio to offset your GPA, so spend some time on it.

Aug 8, 16 6:03 pm  · 
 · 
Driko

Go take some design courses at a community college and start to build a portfolio. Your not getting into Harvard but im sure you can get into a decent architecture school if you really show interest.