Archinect
anchor

Financial Aid for MLA I programs

iiDe

Hi all,

I've been researching the programs I'm interested in for Fall 2017, and the financial aid picture is a little murky. Some of the state schools on my list seem to have several merit-based  scholarships, full in some cases, whereas others (i.e. GSD) are much more mysterious. Penn mentions that students are considered for merit scholarships (but doesn't list amounts), and GSD doesn't mention anything about merit at all. At least in terms of GSD M.Arch. students, I've seen people post here about receiving grant awards that seem to be above the maximum prescribed need-based amount from the GSD handbook. There are also rumors on other forums that people are going to GSD on full rides. Can anyone clear this up for me (in the cases of Penn and GSD particularly)? 

Thanks!

Aug 8, 16 12:18 pm

Admission committee processes and financial aid opportunities are program and institution specific so there is no clear cut, formulaic answer. In some cases funding for graduates students is fluid from year to year. I would suggest actually interviewing at each of the schools in the fall and asking that question directly. Having known people who have attended a range of programs at the graduate level on the east coast, you need to be persistent and never take the funding question for granted. 

Aug 8, 16 12:53 pm  · 
 · 
Dangermouse

I have a 'full ride' to the GSD for MLA I (I pay 3k out-of-pocket per year, the rest is covered by grants and work study).  I did get a merit grant and a need-based grant.  None of my grants were above the maximum prescribed amount.  

I didn't apply to Penn, so I can't help you there.  But I have heard of people e-mailing richard weller to ask if Penn will match their GSD awards.  

Aug 8, 16 1:28 pm  · 
 · 
iiDe