Archinect
anchor

Advice for getting into either real estate dev. or construction management? IIT Masters?

lkjh54321

Hello,

I am a recent college graduate. When I picked my major I regrettably wanted to do Public Relations as a career and after doing an internship in commercial real estate changed my mind the last semester of senior year, when it was already too late for undergrad. My other experience on resume is entrepreneurial, I have started multiple successful small businesses while in school. 

The whole world of development strongly interests me and I would love to be overseeing development projects from start to finish as a career. I have management experience with my own businesses and enjoy it. I would like to one day run my own development firm but obviously need to learn the ropes first. 

I have not been getting any interviews with real estate developers/construction companies, it is rather frustrating not having opportunity to even interview for entry level/internship positions. I am considering doing the Masters of Construction Management at IIT in Chicago. What are your thoughts on this? Would this likely get me in the door with the degree but no prior real world experience? 

Another option would be getting a Masters of Entrepreneurship at DePaul which will give me a business degree and even more importantly teach me new entrepreneurial skills. Every faculty member in the program has founded at least 1 business and the program is highly ranked. It would be a great experience although may not lead to getting interviews either. 

I also could become a commercial real estate broker. Sales roles in general I have been getting interviews for almost every one I apply and already had some offers. 

Aug 3, 16 12:39 am
awkeytect