Archinect
anchor

Better stock house plans?

Aardvark

I'm a registered architect with a few years experience, currently working for a corporate firm in the Pacific Northwest. I like my job well enough, but don't want to spend the rest of my career in corporate practice, and would eventually like to start my own practice working on projects with a more intimate scale and attention to detail. I've recently begun exploring the idea of filling a gap I see in the residential design market.

At one extreme, you have the vast majority of new homes, which are generally designed by developers and contractors, cheap and easy to build, and designed for maximum curb appeal rather than to actually be lived in. These homes are generally pretty badly-designed and shoddily built, with a very short shelf life. Consider this the Wal-Mart option.

At the other extreme are the high-end custom homes seen in Dwell and Architectural Digest. Many of them are beautiful and nicely crafted, and are the type of structures I aspire to design at some point. But they're also out of reach for the vast majority of people out there. Consider this the Prada option.

I'm wondering if there's an opportunity to serve this "missing middle" portion of the market by offering a portfolio of modernist stock plans that are well-designed and relatively easy to build by a residential contractor, yet without being alienating. While I'd be open to selling the plans to people in any location, the houses would be designed with the climate and design culture of the Pacific Northwest in mind. This guy in New Jersey has a very similar business model, but I'm not sure if any similar models of practice exist here in the PNW.