Archinect
anchor

Arriving in Montréal in Québéc CA

giovannidefranceschi

Hi!

I'm Giovanni an Architect, from Italy. I worked in Italy, french Belgium and a little bit in Australia in the past five years. Next month I will arrive in Montréal (Québec) for my WHV.

I really want to find a job in architecture office,

I use classics software like AutoCAD, Sketchup, Photoshop, Vray, Revit, Archicad, Vectorworks and 3D Studio. I speak French (fluent as Italian) and English and  and I have some experience... but I don't know if I can work as an Architect in Canada.

Someone know if the European degree its recognised there? Can I work for another office without the recognition of the architectural degree, maybe like a drafter?

I have also some other trouble about working there:

- Where i can find basics techniques and rules about building construction? Do you know some internet site or online technical bookstore? libraries? Which are the most used software there?

- There is some kind of boards to find job offers, what's the best way to find a job, going door by door in the city or sending resume by mail?

If someone have a similar experience coming from Europe to work there like an architect it would be great to have a little chat :)

Thanks for your help!

cheers

Jul 21, 16 12:23 pm
Non Sequitur

You can work in any office that will hire you however, what you cannot do is work or portray yourself as an architect without first having your academic background (degree) verified and your experience evaluated. You will most likely need to take a french equivalency exams and participate in in-person interviews with the OAQ. Plus you need to pay the registration fees ($1000 per year). Software is as per your experience... mostly autodesk products, not so much with archicad or vector unless it's a very small office.