Archinect
anchor

Career advice

mash78

Hello everyone, 

I'm a 38 year old female architect living in the Middle East. I have only a little work experience as I've been a homemaker for many years. I have worked for about a year after graduation at several technical offices drawing shop and working drawings. I did a little freelancing design work and interior design. My portfolio is very weak. I can only work on AutoCAD. During the past years, I took on several jobs in other fields, depending on my good writing, presentation and language skills.

As for my personal characteristics, I am a terrible time manager if left on my own, well disciplined when managed by others. I am creative, inquisitive and research-oriented. Can work well with other team members. For the past 10 years, I have been mostly using my skills and resources in other areas (no regrets) and not advancing my career.

Last year I finished my master's thesis and I worked for two terms as a part-time TA at a local university. That means no contract - no benefits - no security. 

My dream is to be a professor at a prestigious University in the Middle East. Of course, this is not an easy task considering the high competition, my age and my lack of experience.

I'm willing to invest time and money to achieve my dream but I don't know where to start. I would like help with formulating a timed action plan.

Should I start with enhancing my portfolio? That would mean taking some courses in new software (Rhino, grasshopper...etc) and finding opportunities to design projects (competitions, relations..etc)

Should I start right away with my PhD? I have to find a PhD program at a prestigious University that would allow me to study on a part-time basis, as I cannot relocate and leave my family. Can someone help with that? Is there a certain topic that, if I specialize in,  will increase my chances of getting recruited as a professor later?

Are there any other steps I can take to boost my chances?