Archinect
anchor

Portfolio / Resume Critique?

Hey guys,

I just moved to a new city (far away from my university) and have begun looking for a job. I graduated about a month ago from a top 8 undergrad university, and I am currently cold calling / emailing firms about employment opportunities. I've definitely learned it's much tougher to get a response without a contact within the firm.

I've linked my resume and portfolio below, and I am hoping to get any critiques or comments you all may have for me about how to better sell myself. Additionally, if you all have any tips on how to approach firms out of the blue, I would appreciate it (I've tried everything from dropping in to just sending an email to HR, both with mixed responses). Keep in mind I am a recent graduate looking for entry / junior level employment.

Thanks guys.

-Gil 

Portfolio : https://issuu.com/gmh0008/docs/humphreys_portfolio_2016

Resume : http://issuu.com/gmh0008/docs/resume

Jul 9, 16 5:04 pm

Hi Gil,

For your initial contact with a firm you should just send a sample portfolio to give them a feel for your work. Show your best and most relevant work to the position you are applying. Here is an article that might be helpful for you:

The Two Page Architecture Portfolio

Try to keep your resume to just one page, you could reduce the left margin and move the references from page two to page one. Place your education at the bottom of the page above your references so it begins with your professional experience. Also, don't forget the cover letter. 

Hope that helps! Good luck!

Jul 11, 16 3:47 pm  · 
 · 
jcarch

I review all incoming portfolios for potential hires in my office - overall the portfolio layout is good - I'd give it a B for a recent graduate from undergrad - but you can improve it: