Archinect
anchor

Part 1 from England, Continuing Studies in US

justinehornquist

Hi all!

I am going into my third and final year of the BA (Hons) Architecture degree at a university in England. I’m a Swedish citizen with a Green Card, and I plan to return to the US indefinitely after graduation.

As an English architecture student, I will have my “Part 1 accreditation” from the RIBA (Royal Institute of British Architects), but nothing more. From what I understand, there is no mutual recognition of qualifications between the US and UK. In the UK, I would start work in an architectural firm immediately after graduation.

What I want to find out is whether it is possible as a student with only a three-year education, to take part in the American Internal Development Programme? Or if the usual course of action for a UK student with Part 1 accreditation is to complete two additional years of undergraduate studies at an American university? And does this mean I have to pay the $1,500 to have my degree evaluated by NAAB (National Architectural Accrediting Board)?

Alternatively, would applying to a master’s program straight away be an option?

Sorry for all the questions! From what I can tell, there is not much information out there about the UK to US transition.

If anyone has experience with this, or knows someone I could direct these questions to, please share.

Thank you so much. Any help is greatly appreciated! 

Jul 2, 16 5:46 pm
BulgarBlogger

Whats up with people half assing their education- breaking it up here and there like cookies. Stick with getting your license and education in one country for god's sake...

Jul 2, 16 7:05 pm  · 
 · 
awaiting_deletion

its called life bulgar....calm down......op its hard to advise as things often change. you at least will not need your transcripts translated

Jul 2, 16 8:12 pm  · 
 ·