Archinect
anchor

Job Search when moving

turduckhen2016

Hi Everyone,

My husband and I are moving for his job.  I have a masters in architecture and have about 7 years of experience (just beginning the licensing process).  How early should I start looking for jobs?  If there are no openings posted in the city we are moving to, what do you recommend is the best way to go about the job search?  Someone told me I should not be applying to jobs until a month before or even less....

Any advice is greatly appreciated!

Jun 29, 16 2:53 pm
x intern
How long until you move and how important is it you have a job when you get there? If it's a small market I would start and if offered and you need to go out early deal with it
Jun 29, 16 3:29 pm  · 
 · 
thisisnotmyname

Get active in the area AIA chapter and network like crazy.  Maybe use the break between jobs to get your license faster.  

Jun 29, 16 5:52 pm  · 
 · 

Send out applications as soon as you arrive.  By the time you receive calls, you already have an idea on the best strategy to move forward.

Jun 29, 16 8:31 pm  · 
 ·