Archinect
anchor

Parametric Design

imtiazmahmoodranchi

Hi, I need some suggestions. Which software is best for parametric drawings? I used 3ds max for a very long time. Now I use revit for my presentation sheets as it consumes less time to product graphical drawings, I can skip autocad when I use revit. But I find it complicated to create parametric model in revit. I came to know that revit has an extension 'dynamo visual programming' that may help in my work. I thought about learning rhino. As I'm no expert, I can't decide which software would be most productive.
Please don't suggest sketchup. I find it extremely limited.

Jun 28, 16 3:00 pm
archanonymous

there are so many threads on this already. 

Your options are basically Dynamo for Revit or Grasshopper for Rhino.

Jun 28, 16 3:08 pm  · 
 · 
ivorykeyboard

Or, if you're nostalgic, generative components.

I don't think you know what parametric means. Revit is, essentially by its definition, a parametric modeling software. What are you trying to do?

Jun 28, 16 3:27 pm  · 
 · 

Hell, Gaudi's curves are parametric and he didn't have software.

Listen to the two above me, they know their stuff. I never got into it. 

Jun 28, 16 3:50 pm  · 
 · 
tduds

I second ivorykeyboard. When you say "parametric drawing", what are you actually talking about?

Jun 28, 16 6:33 pm  · 
 · 
Bench

Further, I've found Dynamo to be relatively limiting in comparison to Grasshopper - in a strictly geometrical / modelling sense. On our parametric implementation team, currently I think general attitude is to primarily use Grasshopper for actual modelling workflows, then combine via Revit into our actual construction models for BIM/scheduling.

Jun 29, 16 4:36 am  · 
 · 
imtiazmahmoodranchi

Sorry archanonymous if i posted something repetitive.